Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Background Image

What We Do

Municipal (lower tier) governments are local general-purpose authorities, that provide services to all residents within a defined geographic area called a municipality. As a municipality, the Town of Amherstburg is responsible to provide local services, facilities, safety and infrastructure for our community.

County (upper tier) governments provide services that are common to all the municipalities within the County to prevent duplicating services and administration. The County of Essex consists of 7 municipalities (one of which is the Town of Amherstburg), and provides services to our county roads, libraries, long term care, planning services, emergency preparedness and coordination, community services, land ambulance and general government administration.