Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Background Image

Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

The Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee is appointed under the Ministry of Tourism and Recreation Act and Regulation 797, by by-law and advises Council on matters relating to the beautification, horticulture, forestry and landscaping initiatives of the Town's green space and parks.  The Committee is not mandatory under legislation however shall:

  • promote tourism and recreation in Ontario to residents of Ontario and other jurisdictions;
  • cause the Ministry to stimulate employment and income opportunities through the effective development of tourism and recreation;
  • encourage and support the use of parks, tourist facilities and attractions in Ontario;
  • ensure that adequate opportunities are available to all residents of Ontario to pursue recreational, sports and fitness activities appropriate to their needs and interests;
  • provide recreational, sports and fitness resources to municipalities and to provincial recreational and sports organizations; and
  • encourage and promote improvement in the standards of accommodation, facilities and services offered to the travelling and vacationing public.

The Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee is comprised of two (2) Council members and six (6) lay members from the community.


  • Patrick Catton - Committee Chair
  • Shirley Curson-Prue - Committee Vice Chair
  • Councillor Peter Courtney - Council Representative
  • Councillor Don McArthur - Council Representative
  • Brinton Sharman - Committee Member
  • Wes Ewer - Committee Member
  • Sarah Voegeli - Committee Member
  • Heidi Baillargeon - Staff Liaison
  • Kevin Fox - Recording Secretary

Contact the staff liaison

Email: Heidi Baillargeon, Director of Community and Protective Services
Phone: 519-736-0012 ext. 2128
Fax: 519-736-5403
TTY: 519-736-9860

The Parks and Recreation Committee meets on a bi-monthly basis. Please refer to the Council and Committee Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

If you are interested in becoming a member of this Committee, please check our Committee Vacancies page for current openings.

The Committee's Terms of Reference and meeting agendas & minutes are also available for viewing.